Science

“Alright people.  We have a problem.”

Mr. Douglas did not look pleased.

“What do you mean sir?”  Asked Stephenson; the accountant that nobody liked.  “Our profits for last year were an all-time high.  We’re making money hand over fist.  Kids can’t get enough of us.”

“True, we’ve become known as the premier comic book company.  True, our movie department has successfully taken off.  I have more money invested in my yacht than most people will see in their lifetimes.  But good times don’t always last gentlemen.  We got the numbers back from our Marketing Research Department and they’re not good.  People are getting sick of super hero movies.  They’re getting sick of super heroes all together!   We’re looking at the abyss gentlemen and we don’t even know it.  It’ll be like the mid 90’s all over again!”

The room was shocked.  Nobody dared talk.  Some didn’t believe it; life was too good. Others realized that it was true.  Clarence Smith thought about how on his son’s Birthday he had given him an action figure only to be greeted with a “thanks Dad, this is pretty good.”  All of the pieces were coming together.

Mr. Douglas held up his index finger “We can prevent this though, people!  What we need is something new.  We need something unique.  We need something so mind-warpingly awesome that people will be begging to add another wing to my mansion.”

“B-b-but sir.”  Stuttered Stephenson “We’ve tried adding new characters before and people don’t like it.  We have no ideas left.”

“I know son, I know.  That’s why I’ve brought in the big guns.  I want to introduce you guys to Rick Jones: The Idea Cowboy!”  With that Mr. Douglas pointed to the other end of the table.

Somehow the people in the room had not noticed the dirty cowboy boots resting on the table.  The cigarette smoke rising from under the wide-brimmed hat.  The smell of campfire, beans and cattle.

“Alright, listen up.  My name is Rick Jones and I’m an Idea Cowboy.  I’m here to save your butts.”  The room was silent.  All eyes were fixed on this commanding figure and his beautiful, perfectly maintained stubble.  “I’m only called in when a company is in serious danger.  When you need the best you call me.  When you call the other guy…well, that’s when you’re dead.  You need to kick some butts.  You need to take the ideas I give you and save your company.”

“What ideas do you got for us today, Rick?”  Asked Mr. Douglas with an amount of respect in his voice that nobody in the room had ever heard before.

“Well, normally I warm up to my best ideas, but shoot, this one is so good that you don’t need a second idea.  Science Man.  He’s a scientist that solves crimes with the power of science!”

The room was silent “w-what kind of science?”  Asked Colleen.

“Shoot.  Do I look like a Scientist?  Just Science!”

Mr. Douglas was heartbroken “we, we really like that idea Rick, but do you have anything else?  Like…like maybe a sidekick for Science Man?”

“Yeah, he has a sidekick.  The Mathmagician.  He’s a Scientist that solves crimes with the power of Math.”

Mr. Douglas looked straight at Rick “I’m sorry Mr. Jones, but you’re fired.”

“Understood.  Thank ya’ kindly for your time.”  And with that Rick Jones: The Idea Cowboy left the room.

About Shouting at the noise

I write primarily in order to help myself figure out life. Despite writing often I don't consider myself to be a writer. In the same way that while I eat food, read books, play video games, and watch movies, I do not consider myself a foodie, book worm, gamer, or film buff. View all posts by Shouting at the noise

Leave a comment